Ms. Myers has received FDA’s 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award for “outstanding contributions advancing FDA’s mission, creating a strong coalition to advocate for FDA resources, and establishing enduring connections between FDA alumni and staff.” The award was presented today during FDA’s annual Honor Awards Ceremony.

“I have been very fortunate to do what I love and love what I do. Working to advance FDA’s mission, whether it is through volunteer activities or professional ones, is very fulfilling. I’m honored to be recognized by my colleagues, and to be part of a long tradition that includes so many strong advocates for advancing FDA’s mission,” Ms. Myers said. “Working within the agency made me fully understand the scope and complexity of the demands on the agency. The future of medicines, medical technology, and food safety is dependent on a strong FDA that has the resources it needs to facilitate innovation and meet the challenges of regulating a broad range of rapidly changing industries.”

While at FDA, Ms. Myers engaged in initiatives to strengthen FDA’s outreach and direct communications to patient, consumer and industry constituencies, and much of her work focused on projects to promote innovation. She led FDA’s outreach effort to launch the Critical Path Initiative, was instrumental in cultivating interest in creating the Reagan Udall Foundation, and spearheaded strategic outreach plans for forward leaning projects like the Counterfeit Drug Taskforce.

Since leaving FDA, she has been a strong advocate for increased FDA resources and has established lasting coalitions to ensure the agency’s mission is recognized by Congressional appropriators and supported by the public.

She is one of the original four founders of the organization that became the Alliance for a Stronger FDA and has been a leader in the campaign for increased FDA appropriations in an extremely difficult budget environment. She has served in various leadership roles at the Alliance, most recently as Board-elected President. She also serves on the Board of the FDA Alumni Association.